PJ Party!

Here are my PJs!!! Ok, I’m not wearing them and jumping up and down on my bed but I think you’ll forgive me just this once – in spirit I’m there! Plus, they don’t technically fit me very well at the moment because of my growing tummy but in August they will I’m sure. Fingers crossed anyway!

Karen cunningly threw a giveaway into the mix as an incentive to finish our PJs and I’m glad she did because I would have almost certainly fallen by the wayside on this one. But here they are – PJ trousers from Burda World of Fashion Magazine (as it was then) 12/2006 Model 125.

This is the first time I’ve attempted anything resembling trousers and it was great as a first step. I consider this version a test of the pattern really – I was very very slovenly in my sewing. It reminded me of when I first started sewing and cut a lot of corners! I must say though that I prefer the way I sew now – I enjoy it more and the end product is much better….. I am a perfectionist so I guess that shouldn’t really surprise me! Anyway, back to the PJ – it’s a cute little pattern and I’ll definitely play around and experiment with it in the future.

I made a few changes too. Firstly, I shortened them to knee level and therefore I didn’t add the cuff at the hem along with piping that the pattern called for. I did this to save time really but also I want to be able to wear them in the heat of the summer here. Also, I took inspiration from a pair of PJs I’ve already got and I added elastic at the back and a drawstring at the front. This for me is the most comfortable I think and you get the best of both worlds. Don’t ask me how I did it though because ‘I just bodged it’ would be the answer! I will work out a better way to do it for version 2 that’s for sure.

Anyway, I’m happy with my PJs and it was fun to sew-along with Karen.  So, thank you Karen for organising our little party!

9 Responses to “PJ Party!”


  1. 3 theperfectnose April 28, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Oooh I saw these too and but they looked like cutoffs and its cold here + I wanted something in a stretch knit so I went with the 11/2006 Burda trousers 128. Your pair looks awesome btw.

  2. 5 erin April 29, 2012 at 4:31 am

    Such pretty pj shorts!

  3. 6 Debbie April 29, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Love the floral fabric, such cute PJs.

  4. 7 Mommy en France April 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    The fabric is lovely, so perfect for spring. Enjoy your PJs!

  5. 8 grenouille78 April 30, 2012 at 6:02 am

    It’s a really lovely print.


Leave a Reply

Bloglovin!

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

Categories

Gertie’s Bombshell Dress on Craftsy

Gertie'sNewBlogforBetterSewing

Pyjama Party

Apronalong

Didyoumakethat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

