Vogue 1236

Vogue 1236

Hello everyone! I’ve been sewing up a storm lately and so I’ve got lots to share on this rather neglected little blog of mine….. but first I want to show you a few things I made towards the end of last summer. I made them in August last year but by the time I was ready to blog about them, autumn had arrived and I just didn’t feel like talking about sleeveless dresses and tops anymore. So here we are talking about Vogue 1236. It’s a great pattern and like all DKNY patterns, it oozes understated chic. It’s a simple but stylish dress that is great for work and as a day dress.

I made it up twice using quite different fabrics – the first one is a soft cotton voile with a soft drape (underlined with white voile) and the second version is made up in cotton seersucker.

Vogue 1236

This version actually started off as a test garment really after I’d made plenty of alterations and a muslin. It ended up as the couture version though!  This was my first foray into underlining as well as into using couture techniques a la Craftsy (well that’s not quite true – did you know that I was taught a hand-picked zip first and remember that a zip put in by machine seemed very strange to me indeed! That’s a story for another post though!) and I really enjoyed it – both the process and the end result. I underlined the voile in super soft white cotton voile and it really is lovely to wear.

Vogue 1236

Here’s a close-up showing the underlining and handstitched hem with rayon seam binding

As you can see, I didn’t have much hem allowance to play with. The reason for that was that I lengthened the pattern 2″ but I was pretty restricted on the fabric front.

Vogue 1236

In terms of other alterations – I made quite a lot! Broad back, high round back (I added a CB seam for that), swayback, forward shoulder, shortened ‘bodice’ both above and below the bustline and added a couple of inches to the hem. Most of these are pretty standard for me. I’ve been playing aound with broad back/round back alterations and this was one of those garments you make that makes you feel that you’re really getting somewhere with fitting. Since I made these dresses I’ve made more progress by using Craftsy’s Back, Neck and Shoulder techniques (I highly recommend the class if you have back/shoulder fitting issues) but I’ll tell you about that soon!

IMG_4586

I’ve worn both dresses a lot since I made them – they are fantastic for hot Greek summers and mild Cretan autumns. I will definitely make more in the future but I must say that fabric with a little drape to it gives this dress that little something extra – I love The Selfish Seamstress’s version in silk. I’ll keep my eye out for a silk print I think!

5 Responses to “Vogue 1236”


  1. 1 Gail June 3, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    Cute and simple style for summer. Love all the versions.

  2. 3 Deanna June 9, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    These are so cute. I love both versions. However, I have to say what really caught my eye is your sandals! If I may ask, where did you get them. They are so CUTE!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Bloglovin!

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

Categories

Gertie’s Bombshell Dress on Craftsy

Gertie'sNewBlogforBetterSewing

Pyjama Party

Apronalong

Didyoumakethat

